Your Sugar Might Be Made With Animal Bones. Sorry, Vegans.

January 5, 2015 12:00 PM

8 0

Your Sugar Might Be Made With Animal Bones. Sorry, Vegans.

Marshmallows, beer and even some orange juices are not considered vegan foods. And, depending on one's definition of "vegan," neither are some sugars.

Refined sugar -- the kind that's added to coffee, cookie dough and cake batter -- is made from either sugarcane or sugar beets. The two have near-identical nutritional facts and tastes, and they are used about equally in the States. But, their refining process is different. To manufacture table suga...

Read more

To category page

Loading...