Prestigious Kavli Prizes Awarded To 9 Scientists

May 29, 2014 3:42 PM

28 0

Prestigious Kavli Prizes Awarded To 9 Scientists

Thursday was a big day for nine scientists who were awarded this year’s prestigious Kavli prizes. Beaming in from Oslo via the web, officials of the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters took over the World Science Festival in New York to announce the nine winners who will split million-dollar prizes awarded in three categories: astrophysics, nanoscience and neuroscience.

The prize is named after the late Fred Kavli, the Norwegian-born inventor, business man and philanthropist, who died last year. He spent the last decade of his life handing out money to establish Kavli research institutes at universities around the world and prizes, which are awarded every two years...

Read more

To category page