Packaged convenience foods can be a lifesaver on busy days. But when you look closely at their nutrition labels, many ingredients have long chemical names that seem almost designed to prevent us from understanding what we're eating. Even more unfortunate, a number of these ingredients aren't suitable for vegans.
You'll find some of these animal-derived ingredients appearing in foods you'd have no reason to think weren't vegan. To avoid unpleasant surprises, familiarize yourself with these five most common ones.