2015 Newbery, Caldecott and Printz awards announced

February 4, 2015 3:46 PM

25 0

The American Library Assn. announced the winners of its slate of book prizes, including the Newbery, Caldecott and Printz awards, at its annual meeting Monday. The awards are for books for children and young adults, and the medallions that adorn the winners' book covers (and their runners-up) help guide libraries and parents to looking for new books for kids.

The John Newbery Medal for outstanding contribution to children's literature went to Kwame Alexander's book "The Crossover." The novel in verse, about a basketball-playing teen, is the first book for middle-graders from Alexander, a veteran author who has published more than 20 books.

Read more

To category page